Cannes 2018 – Full List of Festival Winners

The 2018 Cannes International Film Festival hosted its awards ceremony from the Palais des Festivals et des Congrès on Saturday 19th May 2018, awarding 10 awards to films and filmmakers from across the globe in a ceremony that was headlined by Spike Lee winning the Grand Prize for BlacKkKlansman and actor-director Asia Argento making an impassioned speech in which she supported the movements against industry sexism while calling out disgraced producer Harvey Weinstein for sexually assaulting her at the festival in 1997.

Italian actress Argento, who starred in English-language releases XXX (2002) and Marie Antoinette (2006), stated: “In 1997, I was raped by Harvey Weinstein here at Cannes. I was 21 years old. The festival was his hunting ground.”

She continued, “I want to make a prediction: he will never be welcomed here again. He will live in disgrace, shunned by a film community that once embraced him and covered up for his crimes. And even tonight, sitting among you, there are still those who need to be held accountable for their conduct against women. For behaviour that does not belong in this industry; does not belong in any industry or workplace. You know who you are, but most importantly we know who you are, and we are not going to allow you to get away with it any longer.”

Australian actress Cate Blanchett was the president of the 2018 festival and headed a panel of judges who chose from a plethora of films including three by women – of whom one, Nadine Labaki, won the Jury Prize for Capernaum.

Here is the full list of festival winners:

Palme d’Or – Shoplifters
Director: Hirokazu Kore-Eda

Short Film Palme d’Or – All These Creatures
Director: Charles Williams
Special Mention: On the Border (dir: Wei Shujun)

Grand Prize – Spike Lee (BlacKkKlansman)

Jury Prize – Nadine Labaki (Capernaum)

Special Palme d’Or – Jean-Luc Godard (Image Book)

Best Actor – Marcello Fonte (Dogman)

Best Actress – Samal Yeslyamova (My Little One)

Best Director – Pawel Pawlikowski (Cold War)

Camera d’Or – Girl
Dir: Lukas Dhont

Best Screenplay (Tie) – Alice Rohrwacher (Happy As Lazzaro) & Nader Saeivar (3 Faces)

For more information on what the awards mean, please take a look at our article: A Brief History of Cannes International Film Festival.


Leave a Comment