Cannes 2017 Award Winners

The 70th Anniversary of the Cannes International Film Festival was wrapped up this weekend with a jury led by Spanish director Pedro Almodóvar handing out a number of awards to some of the world’s finest films of 2017.

The fabled Palme d’Or was awarded to Ruben Östlund’s art-world satire ‘The Square’. The Swedish movie, that followed a wealthy museum curator taken out of his comfort zone after being mugged on the way to work, was somewhat of a surprise winner given how divisive the movie was among Cannes audiences throughout the festival.

Elsewhere, the jury decided on a joint winner of the Screenplay award, with Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthimis Filippou tying with Lynne Ramsay for ‘The Killing of a Sacred Deer’ and ‘You Were Never Really Here’ respectively, while Sofia Coppola took home the Director award for her female centred remake of ‘The Beguiled’.

Here’s the complete list of winners:


Palme d’Or: “The Square” (Ruben Östlund)

70th Anniversary Award: Nicole Kidman

Grand Prix: “BPM (Beats Per Minute)” (Robin Campillo)

Director: Sofia Coppola, “The Beguiled”

Actor: Joaquin Phoenix, “You Were Never Really Here”

Actress: Diane Kruger, “In the Fade”

Jury Prize: “Loveless” (Andrey Zvyagintsev)

Screenplay: “The Killing of a Sacred Deer” (Yorgos Lanthimos, Efthimis Filippou) and “You Were Never Really Here” (Lynne Ramsay)

Other Prizes

Camera d’Or: “Jeune femme” (Montparnasse-Bienvenüe) (Léonor Serraille)

Short Films Palme d’Or: “Xiao Cheng Er Yue” (Qiu Yang)

Short Films Special Mention: “Katto” (Teppo Airaksinen)

Golden Eye Documentary Prize: “Faces Places” (Visages Villages) (Agnès Varda, JR)

Ecumenical Jury Prize: “Radiance” (Naomi Kawase)

Un Certain Regard

Un Certain Regard Award: “A Man of Integrity,” Mohammad Rasoulof

Best Director: Taylor Sheridan, “Wind River”

Jury Prize: Michel Franco, “April’s Daughter”

Best Performance: Jasmine Trinca, “Fortunata”

Award for Poetry of Cinema: Mathieu Amalric, “Barbara”

Director’s Fortnight

Art Cinema Award: “The Rider” (Chloe Zhao)

Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize — TIE: “Lover for a Day” (Philippe Garrel) and “Let the Sunshine In” (Claire Denis)

Europa Cinemas Label: “A Ciambra” (Jonas Carpignano)

Critics Week

Grand Prize: “Makala” (Emmanuel Gras)

Visionary Prize: “Gabriel and the Mountain” (Fellipe Barbosa)

Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: “Ava” (Léa Mysius)


Competition: “BPM (Beats Per Minute)”

Un Certain Regard: “Closeness” (Kantemir Balagov)

Directors’ Fortnight: “The Nothing Factory” (Pedro Pinho)

More information: Festival de Cannes Website

Leave a Comment