2018 BIFA Winners – The Full List

The 2018 British Independent Film Awards were hosted from Old Billingsgate, London on Sunday 2nd December 2018 with Yorgos Lanthimos’ The Favourite performing particularly well with 10 wins overall including Best Actress for Olivia Colman and the Supporting Actress nod for Rachel Weisz over her The Favourite co-star Emma Stone.

The ceremony, held to honour the best of films made for under £10million, intended for theatrical release and at least co-produced by a British company, also honoured Dame Judi Dench by awarding her the Richard Harris Award. The ceremony also celebrated awards season favourite Roma in the event which was hosted by actor Russell Tovey.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Best British Independent Film – The Favourite

American Animals
You Were Never Really Here

Best Screenplay (Supported by BBC Films) – Deborah Davis/Tony McNamara (The Favourite)

Bart Layton (American Animals)
Michael Pearce (Beast)
Sebastián Lelio/Rebecca Lenkiewicz (Disobedience)
Lynne Ramsay (You Were Never Really Here)

Best Director (Sponsored by Broadsword Event House) – Yorgos Lanthimos (The Favourite)

Bart Layton (American Animals)
Michael Pearce (Beast)
Andrew Haigh (Lean on Pete)
Lynne Ramsay (You Were Never Really Here)

Best British Short (Supported by BFI Network) – The Big Day

Bitter Sea
The Field
To Know Him

Best Actor – Joe Cole (A Prayer Before Dawn)

Rupert Everett (The Happy Prince)
Charlie Plummer (Lean on Pete)
Steve Coogan (Stan & Ollie)
Joaquin Phoenix (You Were Never Really Here)

Best Actress (Sponsored by M.A.C Cosmetics)- Olivia Colman (The Favourite)

Jessie Buckley (Beast)
Rachel Weisz (Disobedience)
Gemma Arterton (The Escape)
Maxine Peake (Funny Cow)

Best Supporting Actor – Alessandro Nivola (Disobedience)

Evan Peters (American Animals)
Barry Keoghan (American Animals)
Dominic West (Colette)
Steve Buscemi (Lean on Pete)

Best Supporting Actress – Rachel Weisz (The Favourite)

Molly Wright (Apostasy)
Rachel McAdams (Disobedience)
Emma Stone (The Favourite)
Nina Arianda (Stan & Ollie)

Most Promising Newcomer – Jessie Buckley (Beast)

Molly Wright (Apostasy)
Michaela Cole (Been So Long)
Liv Hill (Jellyfish)
Marcus Rutherford (Obey)

The Discovery Award (Sponsored by Raindance) – Voyageuse

The Dig
Irene’s Ghost
A Moment in the Reeds
Super November

The Douglas Hickox Award: Debut Director (Sponsored by Kodak & Pinewood) – Richard Billingham (Ray & Liz)

Daniel Kokotajlo (Apostasy)
Michael Pearce (Beast)
Matt Palmer (Calibre)
Leanne Welham (Pili)

Debut Screenwriter – Bart Layton (American Animals)

Daniel Kokotajlo (Apostasy)
Michael Pearce (Beast)
Matt Palmer (Calibre)
Karen Gillan (The Party’s Just Beginning)

Best Documentary – Evelyn

Being Frank: The Chris Sievey Story
Nae Pasaran
Under the Wire

Breakthrough Producer (Sponsored by Creativity Media) – Jacqui Davies (Ray & Liz)

Marcie MacLellan (Apostasy)
Kristian Brodie (Beast)
Anna Griffin (Calibre)
Faye Ward (Stan & Ollie)

Best International Independent Film (Sponsored by Champagne Taittinger) – Roma

Cold War
The Rider

Best Casting (Sponsored by Casting Society of America & Spotlight) – Dixie Chassay (The Favourite)

Avy Kaufman (American Animals)
Michelle Smith (Apostasy)
Julie Harkin (Beast)
Andy Pryor (Stan & Ollie)

Best Cinematography (Supported by Blackmagic Design) – Robbie Ryan (The Favourite)

Ollie Bratt Birkeland (American Animals)
Magnus Nordenhof Jønck (Lean on Pete)
David Ungaro (A Prayer Before Dawn)
Tom Townend (You Were Never Really Here)

Best Costume Design – Sandy Powell (The Favourite)

Andrea Flesch (Colette)
Alyssa Tull (An Evening with Beverly Luff Linn)
Jacqueline Durran (Peterloo)
Guy Speranza (Stan & Ollie)

Best Editing (Sponsored by Intermission Film) – Nick Fenton/Julian Hart/Chris Gill (American Animals)

Yorgos Mavropsaridis (The Favourite)
Ben Wheatley (Happy New Year, Colin Burstead)
Marc Boucrot (A Prayer Before Dawn)
Joe Bini (You Were Never Really Here)

Best Make-Up & Hair Design – Nadia Stacey (The Favourite)

Ivana Primorac (Colette)
Christine Blundell (Peterloo)
Stacey Louise Holman (A Prayer Before Dawn)
Mark Coulier/Jeremy Woodhead (Stan & Ollie)

Best Music (Sponsored by Universal Music Publishing Group) – Johnny Greenwood (You Were Never Really Here)

Anne Nikitin (American Animals)
Jim Williams (Beast)
Richard Hawley (Funny Cow)
Aaron Cupples (Island of the Hungry Ghosts)

Best Production Design – Fiona Crombie (The Favourite)

Michael Carlin (Colette)
Suzie Davies (Peterloo)
Beck Rainford (Ray & Liz)
John Paul Kelly (Stan & Ollie)

Best Sound (Supported by Silk Factory) – Johnnie Burn (The Favourite)

Andrew Stirk (American Animals)
Séverin Favriau (A Prayer Before Dawn)
CJ Mirra (Time Trial)
Paul Davies (You Were Never Really Here)

Best Effects – Howard Jones (Early Man)

Matthew Strange/Mark Wellband (Dead in a Week (or Your Money Back))
George Zwier/Paul Driver (Peterloo)

The Richard Harris Award (Life-Time Achievement) – Judi Dench


Leave a Comment