The European Film Awards 2017 – The Winners

The 30th annual European Film Awards were hosted by the German capital of Berlin on Saturday 9th December 2017, with over 3,000 European Film Academy members voting on 21 categories. Ruben Östlund’s Palme d’Or winner The Square took home many of the big awards at the ceremony (6 overall), headlining an event which also saw iconic French actress Julie Delpy awarded the trophy for European Achievement in World Cinema.

Here are the winners: 

European Film 2017 – The Square

Ruben Östlund The Square EFA 2017

European Comedy 2017 – The Square

European Discovery 2017: Prix Fipresci – Lady Macbeth

Lady Macbeth EFA 2017

European Documentary 2017 – Communion

Komunia 2016 Documentary

European Animated Feature Film 2017 – Loving Vincent

Loving Vincent Animation EFA 2017

European Short Film 2017 – Timecode

Timecode Short EFA 2017

European Director 2017 – Ruben Östlund (The Square)

European Actress 2017 – Alexandra Borbély (On Body and Soul)

Alexandra Borbely EFA 2017

European Actor 2017 – Claes Bang (The Square)

European Screenwriter 2017 – Ruben Östlund (The Square)

European Cinematographer 2017: Prix Carlo Di Palma – Michail Krichman (Loveless)

Loveless Michail Krichman

European Editor 2017 – Robin Campillo (Beats Per Minute)

European Production Designer 2017 – Josefin Åsberg (The Square)

European Costume Designer 2017 – Katarzyna Lewińska (Spoor)

Spoor EFA 2017

European Hair & Make-Up Artist 2017 – Leendert van Nimwegen (Brimstone)

Leendert van Nimwegen Brimstone 2017

European Composer 2017 – Evgueni & Sacha Galperine (Loveless)

European Sound Designer 2017 – Oriol Tarragó (A Monster Calls)

European Film Academy Life Achievement Award – Aleksandr Sokurov

European Achievement in World Cinema – Julie Delpy

European Co-Production Award 2017: Prix Eurimages – Cedomir Kolar

People’s Choice Award 2017 for Best European Film – Stefan Zweig: Farewell to Europe

Stefan Zweig EFA 2017

Become a Patron


Leave a Comment