Edinburgh International Film Festival Award Winners 2019 – Full List

Edinburgh International Film Festival

Edinburgh International Film Festival (EIFF) today announced the Award Winners for this year’s 73rd edition. 121 new features, including 18 world premieres from 42 countries across the globe screened at this year’s festival, with the jurors viewing an extensive and varied selection of shorts, documentaries and features from across the Festival programme.

Notable winners of this year’s prestigious awards include Best British Feature Film Farming, the directorial debut of Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje described as “culturally adrenalising. Visceral. Inspirational” by the Michael Powell Jury, and the awarding of female Finnish director Miia Tervo’s Aurora as the Best International Feature Film.

Here is a full list of official Edinburgh International Film Festival award winners 2019: 

The Michael Powell Award for Best British Feature Film – Farming

Farming 2019 Movie Still

The Award for Best Performance in a British Feature Film – Damson Idris (Farming)

The Award for Best International Feature Film – Aurora

Aurora 2019 Movie EIFF

The Award for Best Documentary Feature Film – Sakawa

The Award for Best Short Film – The Call
Special Mentions: The Fabric of You; Red Film.

The EIFF Works In Progress Winner – Women Behind the Wheel: Unheard Voices on the Pamir Highway
The winner of this award receives £2,500.

The Youth Visions Winners – 14-18 age group: The Processing Room & 19-25 age group: Red Hill
Each winner earned a £300 cash prize.

The winners of the McLaren Award (Best British Animation) and Audience Awards will be announced at the Closing Night Gala.

For more of our EIFF coverage, please visit our EIFF page.


Leave a Comment