2024 BAFTA Winners – Full List

Oppenheimer, Poor Things and The Zone of Interest were the dominant titles at the 77th British Academy Film Awards (BAFTAs), presented from the Royal Festival Hall, London, on Sunday 18th February 2024.

Christopher Nolan’s biographical film of atom bomb scientist J. Robert Oppenheimer was awarded with several of the biggest awards of the night, including Best Film. Its star, Cillian Murphy, earned Best Actor, whilst Robert Downey Jr was awarded Supporting Actor in a strong field. Nolan himself earned Best Director, whilst frequent collaborator Hoyte van Hoytema won for Cinematography and composer Ludwig Göransson was awarded for Score.

Poor Things swept the majority of technical awards, including Visual Effects, Costume Design and Hair & Make Up, with star Emma Stone winning for Best Actress.

The Zone of Interest earned the unique distinction of being awarded both Outstanding British Film and Film Not In the English Language, earning a third award for Sound.

In a touching moment, renowned British actress and filmmaker Samantha Morton was awarded with the BAFTA Fellowship. The actress, known for a wide variety of character-first portrayals across everything from Minority Report to She Said, chose to champion marginalised children in her speech, thanking fellow nominee Ken Loach for Kes, a film that she described as making her feel seen as a child born into poverty.

With celebrities such as David Beckham in attendance, and Tom Cruise drafted in to pay tribute to Samantha Morton, the 2024 BAFTA Film Awards were a star-studded celebration of an industry that fought through difficult times in 2023.

The full list of winners at the 77th British Academy Film Awards:

Best Film – Oppenheimer
Anatomy of a Fall
The Holdovers
Killers of the Flower Moon
Poor Things

Outstanding British Film – The Zone of Interest
All of Us Strangers
How to Have Sex
The Old Oak

Poor Things
Rye Lane

Film Not In the English Language – The Zone of Interest
20 Days In Mariupol
Anatomy of a Fall
Past Lives
Society of the Snow

Documentary – 20 Days In Mariupol
American Symphony
Beyond Utopia
Still: A Michael J Fox Movie

Animated Film – The Boy and the Heron
Chicken Run: Dawn of the Nugget
Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse

Director – Christopher Nolan (Oppenheimer)
Andrew Haigh (All of Us Strangers)
Justine Triet (Anatomy of a Fall)
Alexander Payne (The Holdovers)
Bradley Cooper (Maestro)
Jonathan Glazer (The Zone of Interest)

Cinematography – Hoyte van Hoytema (Oppenheimer)
Rodrigo Prieto (Killers of the Flower Moon)
Matthew Libatique (Maestro)
Robbie Ryan (Poor Things)
Łukasz Żal (The Zone of Interest)

Editing – Jennifer Lame (Oppenheimer)
Laurent Sénéchal (Anatomy of a Fall)
Thelma Schoonmaker (Killers of the Flower Moon)
Yorgos Mavropsaridis (Poor Things)
Paul Watts (The Zone of Interest)

Leading Actress – Emma Stone (Poor Things)
Fantasia Barrino (The Color Purple)
Sandra Hüller (Anatomy of a Fall)
Carey Mulligan (Maestro)
Vivian Oparah (Rye Lane)
Margot Robbie (Barbie)

Leading Actor – Cillian Murphy (Oppenheimer)
Bradley Cooper (Maestro)
Colman Domingo (Rustin)
Paul Giamatti (The Holdovers)
Barry Keoghan (Saltburn)
Teo Yoo (Past Lives)

Supporting Actress – Da’Vine Joy Randolph (The Holdovers)
Emily Blunt (Oppenheimer)
Danielle Brooks (The Color Purple)
Claire Foy (All of Us Strangers)
Sandra Hüller (The Zone of Interest)
Rosamund Pike (Saltburn)

Supporting Actor – Robert Downey Jr (Oppenheimer)
Robert De Niro (Killers of the Flower Moon)
Jacob Elordi (Saltburn)
Ryan Gosling (Barbie)
Paul Mescal (All of Us Strangers)
Dominic Sessa (The Holdovers)

Casting – The Holdovers
All of Us Strangers
Anatomy of a Fall
How to Have Sex
Killers of the Flower Moon

Original Screenplay – Arthur Harari, Justine Triet (Anatomy of a Fall)
Noah Baumbach, Greta Gerwig (Barbie)
David Hemingson (The Holdovers)
Bradley Cooper, Josh Singer (Maestro)
Celine Song (Past Lives)

Adapted Screenplay – Cord Jefferson (American Fiction)
Andrew Haigh (All of Us Strangers)
Christopher Nolan (Oppenheimer)
Tony McNamara (Poor Things)
Martin Amis (The Zone of Interest)

Original Score – Ludwig Göransson (Oppenheimer)
Robbie Robertson (Killers of the Flower Moon)
Jerskin Fendrix (Poor Things)
Anthony Willis (Saltburn)
Daniel Pemberton (Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse)

Sound – The Zone of Interest
Mission: Impossible – Dead Reckoning Part One

Production Design – Poor Things
Killers of the Flower Moon
The Zone of Interest

Costume Design – Poor Things
Killers of the Flower Moon

Make-up and Hair – Poor Things
Killers of the Flower Moon

Special Visual Effects – Poor Things
The Creator
Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 3

Mission: Impossible – Dead Reckoning Part One

British Short Film – Jellyfish and Lobster
Festival of Slaps
Such a Lovely Day

British Short Animation – Crab Day
Visible Mending
Wild Summon

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer – Earth Mama
Blue Bag Life
Bobi Wine: The People’s President
How to Have Sex
Is There Anybody Out There?

EE BAFTA Rising Star Award – Mia McKenna-Bruce
Phoebe Dynevor
Ayo Edebiri
Jacob Elordi
Sophie Wilde

Outstanding Contribution to British Cinema – June Givanni

BAFTA Fellowship – Samantha Morton

Leave a Comment