European Film Awards 2018 Nominees

The nominees for the 2018 European Film Awards have been announced, with Pawel Pawlikowski’s deeply personal black and white film Cold War being the leading nominee after scoring 5 nominations across the European Film, Director, Actress, Actor and Screenwriter categories. BorderDogman and Happy As Lazzaro have each been nominated four times.

British actor Rupert Everett is represented in the Actor category for his work on The Happy Prince while The Breadwinner is represented in the European Animated Feature Film category.

The 2018 European Film Awards will take place on Saturday 15th December from Seville, Spain, with Ralph Fiennes due to receive the European Achievement in World Cinema award at the event. Here is the full list of nominees:

European Film

Border (Gräns)
Cold War (Zimna Wojna)
Happy As Lazaro (Lazzaro Felice)

European Comedy

C’est La Vie (Le Sens De La Fete)
The Death of Stalin (La Mort De Staline)

European Discovery – Prix Fipresci

One Day (Egy Nap)
Scary Mother (Sashishi Deda)
The Guilty (Den Skyldige)
Those Who Are Fine (Dene Wos Guet Geit)
Touch Me Not

European Documentary

A Woman Captured
Bergman – A Year in the Life (Bergman – ett år, ett liv)
Of Fathers and Sons
The Distant Barking of Dogs
The Silence of Others

European Animated Feature Film

Another Day of Life
Early Man
The Breadwinner
White Fang (Croc-Blanc)

European Short Film

Burkina Brandenburg Komplex
Graduation ’97 (Vypusk ’97)
I Signed the Petition
Prisoner of Society
Release the Dogs (LÂchez Les Chiens)
Shame (Cpam)
The Escape (L’Échappée)
The Years (Gli Anni)
Those Who Desire (Los Que Desean)
What’s the Damage

European Director

Ali Abbasi (Border)
Pawel Pawlikowski (Cold War)
Matteo Garrone (Dogman)
Samuel Maoz (Foxtrot)
Alice Rohrwacher (Happy As Lazzaro)

European Actress

Marie Bäumer (3 Days in Quiberon)
Eva Melander (Border)
Joanna Kulig (Cold War)
Alba Rohrwacher (Happy As Lazaro)
Bárbara Lennie (Petra)
Halldóra Geirharðsdóttir (Woman at War)

European Actor

Sverrir Gudnason (Borg/McEnroe)
Tomasz Kot (Cold War)
Marcello Fonte (Dogman)
Victor Polster (Girl)
Jakob Cedergren (The Guilty)
Rupert Everett (The Happy Prince)

European Screenwriter

Ali Abbasi; Isabella Eklöf; John Ajvide Lindqvist (Border)
Pawel Pawlikowski (Cold War)
Matteo Garrone; Ugo Chiti; Massimo Gaudioso (Dogman)
Alice Rohrwacher (Happy As Lazzaro)
Gustav Möller; Emil Nygaard Albertsen (The Guilty)


Leave a Comment