Critics’ Choice Awards 2018 – The Winners

The 23rd annual Critics’ Choice Awards were presented in Santa Monica Airport’s Barker Hangar on Thursday January 11th 2018. The ceremony, which was hosted by actress Olivia Munn, celebrated the best of film as voted for by 373 film critics and journalists from across the United States, with Guillermo Del Toro’s The Shape of Water winning the Best Picture award. Here is a full list of the winners:

Best Picture – The Shape of Water
The Big Sick
Call Me By Your Name
Darkest Hour
The Florida Project
Get Out
Lady Bird
The Post
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Director – Guillermo Del Toro (The Shape of Water)
Greta Gerwig (Lady Bird)
Luca Guadagnino (Call Me By Your Name)
Martin McDonagh (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)
Christopher Nolan (Dunkirk)
Jordan Peele (Get Out)
Steven Spielberg (The Post)

Best Actor – Gary Oldman (Darkest Hour)
Timothée Chalamet (Call Me By Your Name)
Daniel Day-Lewis (Phantom Thread)
James Franco (The Disaster Artist)
Jake Gyllenhaal (Stronger)
Tom Hanks (The Post)
Daniel Kaluuya (Get Out)

Best Actress – Frances McDormand (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)
Jessica Chastain (Molly’s Game)
Sally Hawkins (The Shape of Water)
Margot Robbie (I, Tonya)
Saoirse Ronan (Lady Bird)
Meryl Streep (The Post)

Best Supporting Actor – Sam Rockwell (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)
Willem Dafoe (The Florida Project)
Armie Hammer (Call Me By Your Name)
Richard Jenkins (The Shape of Water)
Patrick Stewart (Logan)
Michael Stuhlbarg (The Shape of Water)

Best Supporting Actress – Allison Janney (I, Tonya)
Mary J. Blige (Mudbound)
Hong Chau (Downsizing)
Tiffany Haddish (Girls Trip)
Holly Hunter (The Big Sick)
Laurie Metcalf (Lady Bird)
Octavia Spencer (The Shape of Water)

Best Young Actor/Actress – Brooklynn Prince (The Florida Project)
McKenna Grace (Gifted)
Dafne Keen (Logan)
Millicent Simmonds (Wonderstruck)
Jacob Tremblay (Wonder)

Best Acting Ensemble – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Lady Bird
The Post

Best Original Screenplay – Jordan Peele (Get Out)
Guillermo Del Toro & Vanessa Taylor (The Shape of Water)
Greta Gerwig (Lady Bird)
Emily V. Gordon & Kumail Nanjiani (The Big Sick)
Liz Hannah & Josh Singer (The Post)
Martin McDonagh (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)

Best Adapted Screenplay – James Ivory (Call Me By Your Name)
Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber (The Disaster Artist)
Dee Rees & Virgil Williams (Mudbound)
Aaron Sorkin (Molly’s Game)
Jack Thorne, Steve Conrad, Stephen Chbosky (Wonder)

Best Cinematography – Roger Deakins (Blade Runner 2049)
Dan Laustsen (The Shape of Water)
Rachel Morrison (Mudbound)
Sayombhu Mukdeeprom (Call Me By Your Name)
Hoyte van Hoytema (Dunkirk)

Best Production Design – The Shape of Water
Murder on the Orient Express
Blade Runner 2049
Beauty and the Beast
Phantom Thread

Best Editing – Paul Machliss & Jonathan Amos (Baby Driver); Lee Smith (Dunkirk)
Michael Kahn & Sarah Broshar (The Post)
Joe Walker (Blade Runner 2049)
Sidney Wolinsky (The Shape of Water)

Best Costume Design – Phantom Thread
Blade Runner 2049
Beauty and the Beast
Wonder Woman
The Shape of Water

Best Hair & Make-Up – Darkest Hour
Beauty and the Beast
I, Tonya
The Shape of Water

Best Visual Effects – War for the Planet of the Apes
Blade Runner 2049
The Shape of Water
Thor: Ragnarok
Wonder Woman

Best Animated Feature – Coco
The Breadwinner
Despicable Me 3
The Lego Batman Movie
Loving Vincent

Best Action Movie – Wonder Woman
Baby Driver
Thor: Ragnarok
War for the Planet of the Apes

Best Sci-Fi/Horror Movie – Get Out
Blade Runner 2049
The Shape of Water

Best Comedy – The Big Sick
The Disaster Artist
Girls Trip
I, Tonya
Lady Bird

Best Actor in a Comedy – James Franco (The Disaster Artist)
Steve Carell (Battle of the Sexes)
Chris Hemsworth (Thor: Ragnarok)
Kumail Nanjiani (The Big Sick)
Adam Sandler (The Meyerowitz Stories)

Best Actress in a Comedy – Margot Robbie (I, Tonya)
Tiffany Haddish (Girls Trip)
Zoe Kazan (The Big Sick)
Saoirse Ronan (Lady Bird)
Emma Stone (Battle of the Sexes)

Best Score – Alexandre Desplat (The Shape of Water)
Jonny Greenwood (Phantom Thread)
Dario Marianelli (Darkest Hour)
Benjamin Wallfisch & Hans Zimmer (Blade Runner 2049)
John Williams (The Post)
Hans Zimmer (Dunkirk)

Best Song – “Remember Me” (Coco)
“Evermore” (Beauty and the Beast)
“Mystery of Love” (Call Me By Your Name)
“Stand Up for Something” (Marshall)
“This is Me” (The Greatest Showman)

Best Foreign Language Film – In the Fade (GERMANY)
BPM (Beats Per Minute) – (FRANCE)
A Fantastic Woman (CHILE)
First They Killed My Father (CAMBODIA)
The Square (SWEDEN)
Thelma (NORWAY)

Follow @thefilmagazine on Twitter for more breaking news.

Leave a Comment