‘Babyteeth’ Dominates AACTA Film Awards

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) today, 30th November 2020, crowned the winners of their 2020 film and television awards, with the Shannon Murphy directed drama Babyteeth dominating the award ceremony’s film categories.

Adapted by Rita Kalnejais from her own stage play of the same name, and starring Little Women actor Eliza Scanlen, Babyteeth is a comically edged drama about a teenager finding romance while fighting a deadly disease, and was described by Leoni Horton in her review for The Film Magazine as being “a fragile, heart-breaking, oddly comical tale about finding the wrong kind of right”.

At the 2020 AACTAs, Babyteeth won a total of seven awards, dominating in every eligible category including Best Film, Best Direction and Best Screenplay.

The awards were as follows: 

AACTA Award Best Film (presented by Foxtel): Babyteeth
AACTA Award Best Indie Film: Standing Up For Sunny
AACTA Award Best Asian Film: Better Days
AACTA Award Best Documentary: Firestarter – The Story of Bangarra Nel Minchin
AACTA Award Best Screenplay in Film: Rita Kalnejais (Babyteeth)
AACTA Award Best Direction in Film: Shannon Murphy (Babyteeth)
AACTA Award Best Lead Actor in Film: Toby Wallace (Babyteeth)
AACTA Award Best Lead Actress in Film: Eliza Scanlen (Babyteeth)
AACTA Award Best Supporting Actor in Film: Ben Mendelsohn (Babyteeth)
AACTA Award Best Supporting Actress in Film: Essie Davis (Babyteeth)
AACTA Award Best Short Film: The Mirror
AACTA Award Best VFX or Animation: The Eight Hundred

The TV awards winners can be found on Deadline.

Leave a Comment