2020 César Awards Results – Roman Polanski Win Sparks Walkouts

The 45th César Awards took place at Salle Pleyel in Paris, France on Friday 28th February 2020, with the awards show known as “the French Oscars” honouring Ladj Ly’s Les Misérables with the award for Best Picture, the country’s International Feature submission for the 2020 Oscars also winning awards in the Best Male Newcomer and Best Editing category, with fellow French release La Belle Époque earning a number of notable honours, including Best Original Screenplay for Nicolas Bedos.

The ceremony wasn’t without controversy however, the Académie des Arts et Techniques du Cinéma awarding controversial filmmaker Roman Polanski with the awards for Best Adapted Screenplay and Best Director, the latter prompting walkouts from artists in protest of the decision.

Polanski, who is wanted in the United States regarding sexual assault allegations and the missing of court dates, did not attend the Césars, noting that he didn’t want to get “lynched” for appearing; a group of 100 people collectively named Osez le Feminisme protesting the awards for supporting his work.

Notable stars to walk out upon the decision of Polanski’s Best Director win were the trio central to Portrait of a Lady on Fire – director Céline Sciamma and star Adèle Haenel. Haenel, who recently brought forward allegations against director Christophe Ruggia for sexually assaulting her from the age of 12, was perhaps the most surprising omission from the list of winners, her Best Actress nomination seeming more of a lock to local press than the awards in any other categories.

Elsewhere, Bong Joon-ho’s unheralded success continued with his Oscars Best Picture winner Parasite earning the award for Best International Feature in a category that also included Joker and Once Upon a Time… In Hollywood.

Here is the full list of winners of the 2020 César Awards: 

Best Film – Les Miserables
La Belle Epoque
By The Grace of God
The Specials
An Officer And A Spy
Portrait Of A Lady On Fire
Oh Mercy

Best Director – Roman Polanski (An Officer And A Spy)
François Ozon (By The Grace of God)
Eric Toledano, Olivier Nakache (The Specials)
Ladj Ly (Les Miserables)
Céline Sciamma (Portrait Of A Lady On Fire)
Arnaud Desplechin (Oh Mercy)

Best Actress – Anais Demoustier (Alice and The Mayor)
Eva Green (Proxima)
Adele Haenel (Portrait Of A Lady On Fire)
Chiara Mastroianni (Chambre 212)
Noemie Merlant (Portrait Of A Lady On Fire)
Doria Tillier (La belle époque)
Karin Viard (The Perfect Nanny)

Best Actor – Roschdy Zem (Oh Mercy)
Daniel Auteuil (La belle époque)
Damien Bonnard (Les Miserables)
Vincent Cassel (The Specials)
Jean Dujardin (An Officer and a Spy)
Reda Kateb (The Specials)
Melvil Poupaud (By The Grace of God)

Best Foreign Film – Parasite
Pain and Glory
The Young Ahmed
Lola vers la mer
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
The Traitor

Best Documentary – M
68, mon père et les clous
The Cordillera of Dreams
Wonder Boy Olivier Rousteing, ne sous X

Best First Film – Papicha (Mounia Meddour)
Atlantics (Mati Diop)
Nom de la terre (Edouard Bergeon)
Wolf’s Call (Antonin Baudry)
Les Miserables (Ladj Ly)

Best Original Screenplay – Nicolas Bedos (La Belle Epoque)
François Ozon (By The Grace of God)
Eric Toledano, Olivier Nakache (The Specials)
Ladj Ly, Giordano Gederlini, Alexis Manenti (Les Miserables)
Céline Sciamma (Portrait Of A Lady On Fire)

Best Adapted Screenplay – Roman Polanski, Robert Harris (An Officer and a Spy)
Costa-Gavras (Adults in the Room)
Jeremy Clapin, Guillaume Laurent (I Lost My Body)
Arnaud Desplechin, Lea Mysius (Oh Mercy)
Dominik Moll, Gilles Marchand (Seuls les bêtes)

Best Supporting Actress – Fanny Ardant (La Belle Époque)
Josiane Balasko (By The Grace of God)
Laure Calamy (Seules les Bêtes)
Sara Forestier (Oh Mercy)
Hélène Vincent (The Specials)

Best Supporting Actor – Swann Arlaud (By The Grace of God)
Grégory Gadebois (An Officer and a Spy)
Louis Garrel (An Officer and a Spy)
Benjamin Lavernhe (Mon Inconnue)
Denis Ménochet (By The Grace of God)

Best Female Newcomer – Lyna Khoudri (Papicha)
Luàna Bajrami (Portrait of a Young Lady on Fire)
Céleste Brunnquell (Les Éblouis)
Nina Meurisse (Camille)
Mama Sané (Atlantics)

Best Male Newcomer – Alexis Manenti (Les Misérables)
Anthony Bajon (Au Nom de la Terre)
Benjamin Lesieur (The Specials)
Liam Pierron (La Vie Scolaire)
Djebril Zonga (Les Misérables)

Best Animated Feature – I Lost My Body
La Fameuse Invasion des Ours en Sicile
Les Hirondelles de Kaboul

Best Editing – Flora Volpeliere (Les Miserables)
Anna Danché, Florent Vassault (La belle époque)
Laure Gardette (By The Grace of God)
Dorian Rigal-Ansous (The Specials)
Hervé de Luze (An Officer and a Spy)

Best Cinematography – Claire Mathon (Portrait of a Young Lady on Fire)
Nicolas Bolduc (La Belle Epoque)
Pawel Edelman (An Officer and a Spy)
Julien Poupard (Les Miserables)
Irina Lubtchansky (Oh Mercy)

Best Costumes – Pascaline Chavanne (An Officer and a Spy)
Emmanuelle Youchnovski (La Belle Epoque)
Thierry Delettre (Edmond)
Alexandra Charles (Jeanne)
Dorothee Guiraud (Portrait of a Lady on Fire)

Best Production Design – Stephane Rosenbaum (La Belle Epoque)
Benoit Barouh (Le Chant Du Loup)
Franck Schwarz (Edmond)
Jean Rabasse (An Officer and a Spy)
Thomas Grezaud (Portrait of a Lady on Fire)

Best Original Score – Dan Levy (J’ai Perdu Mon Corps)
Fatima Al Qadari (Atlantics)
Alexandre Desplat (An Officer and a Spy)
Marco Casanova, Kim Chapiron (Les Miserables)
Gregoire Hetzel (Roubaix, Une Lumiere)

Best Sound – Nicolas Cantin, Thomas Desjonqueres, Raphael Mouterde, Olivier Goinard, Randy Thom (The Wolf’s Call)
Remi Daru, Severin Favriau, Jean-Paul Hurier (La Belle Epoque)
Lucien Balibar, Aymeric Devoldere, Cyril Holtz, Niels Barletta (An Officer and A Spy)
Arnaud Lavaleix, Jerome Gonthier, Marco Casanova (Les Miserables)
Julien Sicart, Valerie De Loof, Daniel Sobrino (Portrait of a Lady on Fire)


Leave a Comment