2019 British Independent Film Award Nominees – Full List

The nominees for the 2019 British Independent Film Awards (BIFAs) were announced on Wednesday 30th October, with new Armando Ianucci movie The Personal History of David Copperfield starring Dev Patel leading the list of nominees with 11 nominations overall.

Other successful British indies celebrated by the awards were the Tom Harper directed Jessie Buckley led musical drama Wild Rosethe latest Peter Strickland film In Fabric and Joanna Hogg’s The Souvenir which picked up 10, 9 and 8 nominations respectively.

The winners of the following categories will be announced at the British Independent Film Awards 2019 from Old Billingsgate, London on Sunday 1st December 2019:

Best British Independent Film

For Sama
The Personal History of David Copperfield
The Souvenir
Wild Rose

Best Director (Sponsored by Broadsword Event House)

Waad Al-Kateab; Edward Watts (For Sama)
Oliver Hermanus (Moffie)
Joanna Hogg (The Souvenir)
Mark Jenkin (The Bait)
Asif Kapadia (Diego Maradona)

Best Screenplay (Sponsored by BBC Films)

Joanna Hogg (The Souvenir)
Armando Ianucci; Simon Blackwell (The Personal History of David Copperfield)
Paul Laverty (Sorry We Missed You)
Peter Strickland (In Fabric)
Nicole Taylor (Wild Rose)

Best Actress

Jessie Buckley (Wild Rose)
Holliday Grainger (Animals)
Sally Hawkins (Eternal Beauty)
Vicky Knight (Dirty God)
Renee Zellweger (Judy)

Best Actor 

Sam Adewunmi (The Last Tree)
Tom Burke (The Souvenir)
Kris Hitchin (Sorry We Missed You)
Josh O’Connor (Only You)
Dev Patel (The Personal History of David Copperfield)

Best Supporting Actress

Jessica Barden (Scarborough)
Ruthxjiah Bellenea (The Last Tree)
Elizabeth Debicki (Vita & Virginia)
Tilda Swinton (The Personal History of David Copperfield)
Julie Walters (Wild Rose)

Best Supporting Actor

Chiwetel Ejiofor (The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind)
Hugh Laurie (The Personal History of David Copperfield)
Edlison Manuel Olbera Nunez (Yuli – The Carlos Acosta Story)
Peter Mullan (The Vanishing)
Bluey Robinson (Dirty God)

The Douglas Hickox Award – Debut Director (Sponsored by Kodak & Pinewood)

Will Becher; Richard Phelan (A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon)
Fyzal Boulifa (Lynn + Lucy)
Ninian Doff (Boyz in the Wind)
Chiwetel Ejiofor (The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind)
Harry Wootliff (Only You)

Breakthrough Producer

Finn Bruce (Tucked)
Kate Byers; Linn Waite (Bait)
Joy Gharoro-Akpojotor (Blue Story)
Becky Read (Three Identical Strangers)
Jake Sidey (Moffie)

Debut Screenwriter (Sponsored by Film4)

Kieran Hurley (Beats)
Lisa Owens (Days of the Bagnold Summer)
Nicole Taylor (Wild Rose)
Emma Jane Unsworth (Animals)
Harry Wootliff (Only You)

Most Promising Newcomer

Sam Adewunmi (The Last Tree)
Vicky Knight (Dirty God)
Lorn Macdonald (Beats)
Roxanne Scrimshaw (Lynn + Lucy)
Honor Swinton Byrne (The Souvenir)

Best Documentary

Coup 53
Diego Maradona
For Sama
Tell Me Who I Am

The Raindance Discovery Award

The Bump Along the Way
Children of the Snow Land
Here for Life
The Street

Best British Short Film (Supported by BFI Network)

Boiling Point
The Devil’s Harmony
Serious Tingz

Best International Independent Film (Sponsored by Champagne Taittinger)

Ash Is Purest White
Marriage Story

Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Best Casting (Sponsored by Casting Society of America & Spotlight)

Shaheen Baig (In Fabric)
Shaheen Baig; Aisha Bywaters (The Last Tree)
Kahleen Crawford; Caroline Stewart (Only You)
Kahleen Crawford (Wild Rose)
Sarah Crowe (The Personal History of David Copperfield)

Best Cinematography

Ole Bratt Birkeland (Judy)
Benjamin Kracun (Beats)
Zac Nicholson (The Personal History of David Copperfield)
Jamie D Ramsay (Moffie)
Ari Wegner (In Fabric)

Best Costume Design 

Suzie Harmon; Robert Worley (The Personal History of David Copperfield)
Anna Mary Scott Robbins (Wild Rose)
Grace Snell (The Souvenir)
Jany Temime (Judy)
Jo Thompson (In Fabric)

Best Editing (Sponsored by Intermission Film)

Mick Audsley; Peter Lambert (The Personal History of David Copperfield)
Mark Jenkin (Bait)
Chris King (Diego Maradona)
Chloe Lambourne; Simon McMahon (For Sama)
Helle Le Fevre (The Souvenir)

Best Effects

A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon
In Fabric

The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind

Best Make-Up & Hair Design (Sponsored by Mac Cosmetics)

Morten Jacobsen; Rogier Samuels; Lindelotte van der Meer (Dirty God)
Karen Hartley-Thomas (The Personal History of David Copperfield)
Emma Scott (In Fabric)
Jody Williams (Wild Rose)
Jeremy Woodhead (Judy)

Best Music (Sponsored by Universal Music Publishing Group)

Jack Arnold (Wild Rose)
Cavern of Anti-Matter (In Fabric)
Nainita Desai (For Sama)
Antonio Pinto (Diego Maradona)
JD Twitch; Penelope Trappes; Stephen Hindman (Beats)

Best Production Design (Sponsored by Studio Juice)

Cristina Casali (The Personal History of David Copperfield)
Stephane Collonge (The Souvenir)
Kave Quinn (Judy)
Anne Siebel (The White Crow)
Paki Smith (In Fabric)

Best Sound (Supported by Halo Post)


Diego Maradona
Wild Rose
In Fabric

We have reviews of the following nominated films:


Leave a Comment