2022 BAFTA Film Awards Winners List

The winners of the 75th BAFTA Film Awards were announced Sunday 13th March 2022, with the British Academy of Film and Television Arts selecting and celebrating the best of British and world cinema released in 2021. In a ceremony hosted by Rebel Wilson and emanating from the Royal Albert Hall, London, a total of 48 films were nominated and 24 were awarded with a coveted BAFTA.

The live broadcast opened with a performance of “Diamonds Are Forever” by Dame Shirley Bassey in honour of the 60th anniversary of James Bond on the silver screen, and featured a live performance of Joni Mitchell’s “Both Sides Now” performed by CODA lead actress Emilia Jones.

For the first time, the British Academy Film Awards were presented with live sign language interpreters presented to the audience via the venue’s big screens, and deaf actor Troy Kotsur made history by winning in the Best Supporting Actor category for his performance in CODA.

Dune was the year’s biggest winner, earning five BAFTAs across a number of technical categories including Sound and Special Visual Effects, while BelfastThe Power of the Dog and West Side Story were each two-time winners.

Joanna Scanlan was perhaps the surprise winner of the evening, her performance in British independent film After Love earning her the Best Actress BAFTA. The 60-year-old made an emotional speech in which she thanked her husband, declaring that in the case of him “there is no such thing as ‘after love'”.

The full list of winners at the 2022 BAFTA Film Awards: 

Don’t Look Up
Licorice Pizza

Outstanding British Film – BELFAST
After Love
Ali & Ava
Boiling Point
Everybody’s Talking About Jamie
House Of Gucci
Last Night In Soho
No Time To Die

Outstanding Debut By A British Writer, Director Or Producer – THE HARDER THEY FALL, Jeymes Samuel (writer/director)
After Love, Aleem Khan (writer/director)
Boiling Point, James Cummings (writer), Hester Ruoff (producer) [also written by Philip Barantini and produced by Bart Ruspoli]
Keyboard Fantasies, Posy Dixon (writer/director), Liv Proctor (producer)
Passing, Rebecca Hall (writer/director)

Film Not In The English Language – DRIVE MY CAR
The Hand Of God
Parallel Mothers
Petite Maman
The Worst Person In The World

Becoming Cousteau
The Rescue

Animated Film – ENCANTO
The Mitchells vs the Machines

Director – THE POWER OF THE DOG, Jane Campion
After Love, Aleem Khan
Drive My Car, Ryûsuke Hamaguchi
Happening, Audrey Diwan
Licorice Pizza, Paul Thomas Anderson
Titane, Julia Ducournau

Original Screenplay – LICORICE PIZZA, Paul Thomas Anderson
Being The Ricardos, Aaron Sorkin
Belfast, Kenneth Branagh
Don’t Look Up, Adam Mckay
King Richard, Zach Baylin

Adapted Screenplay – CODA, Siân Heder
Drive My Car, Ryûsuke Hamaguchi
Dune, Eric Roth, Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve
The Lost Daughter, Maggie Gyllenhaal
The Power Of The Dog, Jane Campion

Leading Actress – JOANNA SCANLAN, After Love
Lady Gaga, House Of Gucci
Alana Haim, Licorice Pizza
Emilia Jones, Coda
Renate Reinsve, The Worst Person In The World
Tessa Thompson, Passing

Leading Actor – WILL SMITH, King Richard
Adeel Akhtar, Ali & Ava
Mahershala Ali, Swan Song
Benedict Cumberbatch, The Power Of The Dog
Leonardo DiCaprio, Don’t Look Up
Stephen Graham, Boiling Point

Supporting Actress – ARIANA DEBOSE, West Side Story
Caitríona Balfe, Belfast
Jessie Buckley, The Lost Daughter
Ann Dowd, Mass
Aunjanue Ellis, King Richard
Ruth Negga, Passing

Supporting Actor – TROY KOTSUR, CODA
Mike Faist, West Side Story
Ciarán Hinds, Belfast
Woody Norman, C’mon C’mon
Jesse Plemons, The Power Of The Dog
Kodi Smit-Mcphee, The Power Of The Dog

Original Score – DUNE, Hans Zimmer
Being The Ricardos, Daniel Pemberton
Don’t Look Up, Nicholas Britell
The French Dispatch, Alexandre Desplat
The Power Of The Dog, Jonny Greenwood

Casting – WEST SIDE STORY, Cindy Tolan
Boiling Point, Carolyn Mcleod
Dune, Francine, Maisler
The Hand Of God, Massimo Appolloni, Annamaria Sambucco
King Richard, Rich Delia, Avy Kaufman

Cinematography – DUNE, Greig Fraser
Nightmare Alley, Dan Laustsen
No Time To Die, Linus Sandgren
The Power Of The Dog, Ari Wegner
The Tragedy Of Macbeth, Bruno Delbonnel

Editing – NO TIME TO DIE, Tom Cross, Elliot Graham
Belfast, Úna Ní Dhonghaíle
Dune, Joe Walker
Licorice Pizza, Andy Jurgensen
No Time To Die, Tom Cross, Elliot Graham
Summer Of Soul (Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised), Joshua L. Pearson

Production Design – DUNE, Patrice Vermette, Zsuzsanna Sipos
Cyrano, Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer
The French Dispatch, Adam Stockhausen, Rena Deangelo
Nightmare Alley, Tamara Deverell, Shane Vieau
West Side Story, Adam Stockhausen, Rena Deangelo

Costume Design – CRUELLA, Jenny Beavan
Cyrano, Massimo Cantini Parrini
Dune, Robert Morgan, Jacqueline West
The French Dispatch, Milena Canonero
Nightmare Alley, Luis Sequeira

Make Up & Hair – THE EYES OF TAMMY FAYE, Frederic Aspiras, Jane Carboni, Giuliano Mariana, Sarah Nicole Tanno
Cruella, Nadia Stacey, Naomi Donne
Cyrano, Alessandro Bertolazzi, Siân Miller
Dune, Love Larson, Donald Mowat
The Eyes Of Tammy Faye, Linda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram, Justin Raleigh

Sound – DUNE, Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Doug Hemphill, Theo Green, Ron Bartlett
Last Night In Soho, Colin Nicolson, Julian Slater, Tim Cavagin, Dan Morgan
No Time To Die, James Harrison, Simon Hayes, Paul Massey, Oliver Tarney, Mark Taylor
A Quiet Place Part II, Erik Aadahl, Michael Barosky, Brandon Proctor, Ethan Van Der Ryn
West Side Story, Brian Chumney, Tod Maitland, Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom

Special Visual Effects – DUNE, Brian Connor, Paul Lamber, Tristan Myles, Gerd Nefzer
Free Guy, Swen Gillberg, Brian Grill, Nikos Kalaitzidis, Daniel Sudick
Ghostbusters: Afterlife, Aharon Bourland, Sheena Duggal, Pier Lefebvre, Alessandro Ongaro
The Matrix Resurrections, Tom Debenham, Hew J Evans, Dan Glass, J. D. Schwaim
No Time To Die, Mark Bokowski, Chris Corbould, Joel Green, Charlie Noble

British Short Animation – DO NOT FEED THE PIGEONS, Jordi Morera
Affairs Of The Art, Joanna Quinn, Les Mills
Night Of The Living Dread, Ida Melum, Danielle Goff, Laura Jayne Tunbridge, Hannah Kelso

British Short Film – THE BLACK COP, Cherish Oteka
Femme, Sam H. Freeman, Ng Choon Ping, Sam Ritzenberg, Hayley Williams
The Palace, Jo Prichard
Stuffed, Theo Rhys, Joss Holden-Rea
Three Meetings Of The Extraordinary Committee, Michael Woodward, Max Barron, Daniel Wheldon

EE Rising Star Award (voted for by the public) – LASHANA LYNCH
Ariana Debose
Harris Dickinson
Millicent Simmonds
Kodi Smit-McPhee

Awards per film: 

5 – Dune
2 – Belfast
2 – The Power of the Dog
2 – West Side Story
1 – The Harder They Fall
1 – Drive My Car
1 – CODA
1 – Licorice Pizza
1 – Summer of Soul
1 – King Richard
1 – After Love
1 – Do Not Feed the Pigeons
1 – The Black Cop
1 – No Time to Die
1 – The Eyes of Tammy Faye
1 – Encanto

Leave a Comment