The Academy Announces Its New Board of Governors

The Academy of Motion Picture Art & Sciences has announced its new board of governors for 2016/17, and the list includes iconic film director Steven Spielberg.

The list of new governors is as follows:

Kevin Collier (Sound)
Sharen K. Davis (Costume)
Laura Dern (Actors)
Laura Karpman (Music)
Steven Spielberg (Directors)
Roger Ross Williams (Documentary)

Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs made the following comment:

“I’m honored and privileged to welcome the Academy’s new board. I thank our members for actively participating and taking another step toward inclusion, one that will bring new ideas and perspectives as we continue to expand our global outreach while leading our community forward.”

Voting is yet to be completed in the editing sector of the governor elections, but 51 names are expected to make up the governors elect in total, 17 of which are currently women.

Source: Variety

For more top news stories like this, like us on Facebook.

Leave a Comment